Need some help?

There is no articles related to this label

I'm using iMessage, why have I been charged for a picture or video message?

iMessage lets you send messages from your Apple device to other Apple users using Wi-Fi or data. The charges for this service are dependent on what sort of connection you have and who you’re sending the message to, as shown on the following table:

 

Wi-Fi (to another Apple device)

Mobile data (to another Apple device)

Without internet connection (to another Apple device)

To non-Apple device (any connection)

Text message

No charge

Taken from your data allowance, otherwise charged at our standard rate

Sent as a standard text and from your monthly allowance, otherwise charged at our standard rate

Sent as a standard text and from your monthly allowance, otherwise charged at our standard rate

Picture, video or Animoji 

No charges

Taken from your data allowance, otherwise charged at our standard rate

Sent as normal picture or video message. If you have a relevant Extra it will be taken from that allowance, otherwise charged at our standard rate

 

Sent as normal picture or video message. If you have a relevant Extra it will be taken from that allowance, otherwise charged at our standard rate

If you don’t want your device to automatically resend iMessages as texts and picture messages when you have no data connection, you can turn this feature off by going to:

  1. Settings
  2. Messages
  3. Turn off Send as SMS

If you try to send an attachment like a picture, video clip or an Animoji to a non-Apple device, you’ll automatically send a picture or video message.

.
.
.
.
.